World-leading engineers elected to Academy fellowship

Posted on 21 Sep 2015 by Callum Bentley

The Royal Academy of Engineering has elected 50 new Fellows, including three new International Fellows.

The newly elected Fellows represent the cream of the UK engineering profession, including technologists from world-leading engineering companies and distinguished academics from renowned research institutions.

Paddy Lowe, executive director (Technical) of Mercedes-Benz Grand Prix Ltd, is elected a Fellow after nearly 30 years in Formula 1 racing characterised by innovative technical developments that have led to eight world championships for his team.

Andrew Mitchell CBE becomes a Fellow in recognition of his outstanding leadership on major infrastructure projects, as Programme Director of the £14.8bn Crossrail scheme and CEO of Thames Tideway Tunnel Ltd.

Other leading engineers from industry joining the Fellowship include Vincent de Rivaz CBE, who has overseen the expansion of EDF Energy in the UK; and Bernard Looney, BP’s Chief Operating Officer, Production, who provided leadership and advice during the 2010 Deep Water Horizon response programme.

A complete list of Fellows for 2015 can be found here.

Professor Constantinos Stavrinidis, head of the Mechanical Engineering Department at the European Space Agency’s European Space Research and Technology Centre, has also been elected a Fellow and is recognised for his part in advancing the state-of-the-art in European Astronautics.

Professor John Daugman OBE, Professor of Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition at the University of Cambridge, joins the Fellowship as the inventor of iris recognition technology that is deployed in border control systems around the world.

Other new Fellows from academia include Professor Claire Adijman, Professor of Chemical Engineering at Imperial College London who is recognised as one of the main architects of molecular systems engineering; and Professor Bob Cryan of the University of Huddersfield – the youngest engineer ever to have been appointed as a Vice-Chancellor in the UK.

New International Fellows include biomedical engineer Professor Manfred Morari of ETH Zurich, whose theory and techniques in controller design have impacted industrial practice in process, automotive, and power systems control.

Dame Ann Dowling DBE FREng FRS, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering.
Dame Ann Dowling DBE FREng FRS, President of the Royal Academy of Engineering.

President of the Royal Academy of Engineering, Professor Dame Ann Dowling DBE FREng FRS commented: “The commitment and energy of our Fellows is the lifeblood of our Academy.

“Our new Fellows join us today as the country’s most innovative and creative minds from both academia and industry. We look forward to working with them, learning from their successes and drawing on their considerable expertise as we continue our work to promote engineering at the heart of society.”

The new Fellows join around 1,500 others at the Academy, with new members elected annually to join the Fellowship in recognition of their outstanding contributions to engineering.