IET announces winners of 2016 Achievement Awards

Posted on 21 Sep 2016 by Jonny Williamson

The Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) has announced the winners of its prestigious Achievement Awards which recognise individuals who have made a substantial contribution to engineering and electronics.

Those receiving an Achievement Medal this year include Professor Moeness G Amin, who has developed an innovative radar imaging technique which allows people to see through walls; Professor Mark Williams, who has applied a 3D high-resolution scanning technique to revolutionise crime investigation by the police, and Dr Michael Aldred, whose work has enabled Dyson to launch the first mass-market robotic vacuum cleaner.

The recieptient of this year’s Faraday Meal, the most prestigious achievement IET prize, is Dr Andy Harter – founder and CEO of RealVNC.

The Achievement Awards are part of the IET’s Achievement Awards and Scholarships programme, which this year provided over £1m in awards, prizes and scholarships to celebrate excellence and research in the sector and encourage the next generation of engineers and technicians.

Harter developed and commercialised the VNC technology which enables the remote sharing of computer screens. He has grown RealVNC from a startup to an international business that works with some of the largest technology companies.

The Mensforth Manufacturing Medal will be awarded to Tom Williams, the COO of Airbus, for his achievements as a world-class production engineer. Williams is currently responsible for ensuring the Airbus manufacturing supply chain can deliver its burgeoning order book of the current A380 and new generation A350XWB.

Prof Alan E Willner, who has developed a way of twisting light to increase the speed and capacity of the optical fibres that are the backbone of the internet, will be awarded the JJ Thomson Medal for Electronics.

Prof Jean Armstrong who invented a range of new techniques for carrying data through optical and wireless applications which improve their efficiency and quality will receive the Mountbatten Medal. Prof Armstrong is also known as a powerful advocate for women in engineering.

Naomi Climer, president, the IET.
Naomi Climer, president, the IET.

IET President, Naomi Climer commented: “It’s a privilege to celebrate the talent of these individuals whose work is at the leading edge of their respective fields.

Their achievements not only push the boundaries of their industry but ultimately improve the way we all live and work, reinforcing the critical role that engineers play in our society.”

The winners, who were nominated by their peers and selected by a panel of IET judges, are leading engineers and technicians, who will now be invited to collect their awards at a prestigious awards ceremony on November 16.

The remaining winner of the IET Volunteer Medal is due to be announced at the IET Achievement Awards ceremony.

The Manufacturer MX Awards 2016

The innovative, the efficient and the all-round epitome of excellence in UK manufacturing will vie to be crowned the best in their field at The Manufacturer MX Awards 2016.

The winners will be crowned at The Vox, Birmingham on Wednesday 2 November, where 850 industry leaders will come together for a night of reward, recognition and celebration.

You can view the complete shortlist here.

Secure your table at this year’s awards and join some of the biggest names in the industry at the largest networking night in the manufacturing calendar.