SMMT’s 2011 Innovation Awards shortlist revealed

Posted on 28 Sep 2011 by The Manufacturer

The Society for Motoring Manufacturers and Traders (SMMT) has released the shortlist of six automotive firms for this year’s 2011 Automotive Innovation Awards.

Launched in May last year, the award is given to the company that demonstrates a dedication to investment in R&D and resultant innovation.

The six companies shortlisted for the Award are: Ashwoods Automotive’s Hybrid System; ABB Product Group EV Charging Infrastructure and its new electric vehicle charging station – the The Terra 100.2 dual post plus base station; Flybrid Systems LLP’s CFT KERS – a new high-speed flywheel; Intelligent Energy’s fuel-cell scooter; Jaguar Land Rover’s Range_e and WABCO Holdings’ new tail guard.

Sponsored by GKN Driveline, the Award received entries from across the automotive sector, including cars, components, aftermarket and commercial vehicles.

“The calibre of entries for this year’s Award reflects the strength of the automotive sector and the value of investing in new products and technologies,” said SMMT chief executive, Paul Everitt.

On October 12 this year, SMMT will host a live webinar at 10:00 with the six shortlisted entries, during which Mr Everitt will discuss the importance of innovation in the automotive industry and each shortlisted entry will discuss their submission. The webinar will also include a live Q&A opportunity – to register for this webinar click here

The winner will be announced at the SMMT’s Annual Dinner on November 22, at the Hilton on Park Lane, London.

George Archer